Where I Buy Cards & Books

I like to support small businesses with my Tarot related purchases, feeling that by doing so I am lending a touch of help to those working to strengthen the Tarot community.

I’m also aware that counterfeit Tarot decks have become a serious problem for deck creators, and that these counterfeit decks are regularly sold by large online retailers, companies that are household names. If we hope to continue to have artists create wonderful decks for us, we need to do our part to not support those who counterfeit, or enable it, including those massive online retailers.

Finally, I think it important that we all, at least to some extent, shop locally, in order to support the communities we live in.

With the above criteria in mind, I offer the following retailers for your consideration:

Tarot Arts

Tarot Arts is a small online retailer of all things Tarot, located in California. I’ve purchased from Tarot Arts for years and have always found them to be superb on price, service, and shipping. In my experience, you won’t go wrong ordering from Tarot Arts.

Phoenix Rising

Phoenix Rising is a brick and mortar metaphysical shop in Port Townsend, Washington. They carry a very large selection of Tarot decks and books. My wife and I visit the Port Townsend area fairly often, and no trip would be complete without a visit to Phoenix Rising.

Strangeland’s

Strangeland’s Oddities, Omens, & Charms is the place to go for Tarot decks in my hometown of Centralia, Washington. The deck selection is understandably small, but it is wonderful having a Tarot retailer in our small city, and the owner Paul is great to do business with. If a deck is needed in a hurry, or for a gift, Strangeland’s is key.

Eccentrica

If you happen to fly into Puerto Vallarta to enjoy a few days in the sun, but realize that you forgot to pack your Tarot, no worries, Eccentrica has you covered. The deck selection is reasonable, including some decks you might not see elsewhere, and you are able (ask first of course) to look through the cards before making your purchase. Friendly people, reasonable prices, right on Restaurant Row in the Romantic District. The shop is tiny, so you have to pay attention or you’ll walk right past it.